Anyone used any off brand batteries in there Evo?

arburnley

Nov 4, 2010
Visit site
I was looking at extended life batteries on ebay. There are plenty of no name brand batteries for the Evo. They are dirt cheap. I am a little scepticle on how they will perform.

arburnley

Nov 4, 2010
Visit site
When doing some research I came across a statement that stated any off brand batteries wont charge in the phone. Apparently there is software that only allows you to charge oem batteries. Can anyone confirm this?

leo1977

May 16, 2010
Visit site
I use a 2000 mAh made by Galileo model DTD-T7373. I got two of them plus a wall charger and cord from eBay. I think the seller was speedy China. I paid about eight bucks plus shipping for them. They work fine and still fit under the stock battery door. I get about an extra hour and a half over the stock battery with them. I have been using both of them for about two months, they still work and charge just fine.

Reactions: Rain#CB

tube517

Jun 28, 2010
Visit site
I have 2 sets from Ebay/Hong Kong: 2 - 1500 mAh and 2 - 2000 mAh (galileo). Both sets are fine. The 1500 are older and are probably more like 1300 mAh as they don't last as long as the stock batt. The 2000 mAh are newer and do last longer than the stock batt.

I've been lucky that I got these cheap and that they work fine. Just be careful and buy from the sellers with good reputations.

tide_rulz

Nov 16, 2010
Visit site
When doing some research I came across a statement that stated any off brand batteries wont charge in the phone. Apparently there is software that only allows you to charge oem batteries. Can anyone confirm this?

whoever made that statement was wrong. Plenty of people use the Seidio (spelling?) batteries. I use a 3000mah battery a lot. No issue charging it or using it.

hopefulfarm

Dec 10, 2010
Visit site