Noob Alert! I have rooting/flash questions.

fauxsheux

Aug 23, 2011
Visit site
First off, thanks to all who take the time to read and reply to this thread.

I am not a computer noob at all, but when it comes to mobile o/s stuff I am kind of new to the scene, please hang with me.

I am using an Evo Shift on Sprint obviously and I am also updated to 2.3.3 Gingerbread. I would like to gather my options on rooting my phone. I understand that this isn't really possible right now, and I have tried the Gingerbreak method to no avail. My purpose for gaining root access is simple, I want to use my phone to it's fullest extent.

That being said, is my best route to flash to another rom, like Cyanogen and then root that mod?

If this is recommended can someone please link me some novice-friendly info? My biggest concern is that I first want to make sure I can run Cyanogen or another recommended mod in order to obtain root access. I don't expect anyone to type out a guide for me, maybe just some advice?

Thanks again for your time and knowledge!

crump84

Jan 13, 2011
Visit site
First off, thanks to all who take the time to read and reply to this thread.

I am not a computer noob at all, but when it comes to mobile o/s stuff I am kind of new to the scene, please hang with me.

I am using an Evo Shift on Sprint obviously and I am also updated to 2.3.3 Gingerbread. I would like to gather my options on rooting my phone. I understand that this isn't really possible right now, and I have tried the Gingerbreak method to no avail. My purpose for gaining root access is simple, I want to use my phone to it's fullest extent.

That being said, is my best route to flash to another rom, like Cyanogen and then root that mod?