Help android noob!!!

jayjeff20

Oct 21, 2009
Visit site
so im having a hard time trying to figure out a few basic things on my fancy new hero (which is amazing in so many ways :) ) any help would be greatly appreciated.

1. how do i check what apps are running in the background ( which ones didnt close kinda thing )

2. how do i see how much free memory i have?

3. wouldnt a battery meter app just drain the battery faster?

4. will the hero be able to upgrade to android 2.0?

sorry if these questions are dumb to some of you, this is my first android phone and im still really new to all of it. thanks again for any help

Jerry Hildenbrand

Space Cowboy
Staff member
Oct 11, 2009
Visit site
1. Download a task manager program from the market. Look at ERdude's post here: http://forum.androidcentral.com/htc-hero/782-improving-battery-life-your-android-device.html

2. from the homescreen: menu>settings>SD Card and Phone Storage

3. All apps and widgets will drain the battery. You have to decide if the tiny drain from a battery monitor is worth it to know the stats of you battery at a glance. I just look in menu>about phone>status and get the % if i need to know a more accurate number.

4. It should. No word yet if HTC is going to put out supported version of 2.0, but certainly you'll be able to load some flavor of 2.0 on it if you like.

5 :) no question is dumb.

Ask away if you need clarification on anything. Lots of folks here that can help you out.

jayjeff20

Oct 21, 2009
Visit site
thanks for all the info guys helps a lot. to clarify one thing though. what i meant in question 2 is how do i know how much ram the phone is currently using, like on a blackberry i could check and it would let me know how much ram my apps are using so i know why my phone may be running slower and what not ( my hero doesnt run slow at all just for the record ). i hope thats comes across a little better. thanks in advance

Jerry Hildenbrand

Space Cowboy
Staff member
Oct 11, 2009
Visit site