Lifespan of a phone released in 2016 ? Speaking about the OS

• Thread starter Android Central Question
  • Start date
A

Android Central Question

I'm considering to buy the HTC One A9s, which was released in June 2016.
Looking at the specs on gsmarena.com, at the OS section, it only mentions Android 6.0 (Marshmallow). For some other phones, this website mentions Android 7.0 or even planned upgrade to 8.0.

Should I worry that this phone might not be able to stay up to date for at least 3 years ?

My phones and smartphones have always lasted 4-5 years and I intend to keep it like this. My previous phone was an HTC Desire S which I've been using for nearly 5 years, and I was kinda forced to abandon it due to the OS (Android 2) not supporting popular apps anymore, otherwise i could've been using it for one more year.

Thanks for your advice

chanchan05

Q&A Team
Nov 22, 2014
Visit site
No phone stays updated for a 3 years except iPhones. That's because the manufacturers of the SoCs in phones stop releasing updated drivers by then. Apple is a special case since they're also the ones who make those drivers so they can keep making them as long as they want. Samsung won't do it on their Exynos powered phones even if they could because they'll be alienating certain partners and markets (some markets don't use Exynos for the same model).