Getting my first ever Android phone (the One); some very basic questions:

kwitel

Mar 22, 2013
Visit site
Very excited, to say the least.
I am switching from Blackberry, which I have been using for TEN years!

So, what is the best way for me to get rid of any bloatware that comes with the phone? (this will be a Verizon version)
Do I get rid of the bloatware manually or just (somehow) download a different version of the OS?

Also, any other tips/suggestions/advice that you have for a first time Android user; all greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

swarlos

Trusted Member
Mar 8, 2010
Visit site
Very excited, to say the least.
I am switching from Blackberry, which I have been using for TEN years!

So, what is the best way for me to get rid of any bloatware that comes with the phone? (this will be a Verizon version)
Do I get rid of the bloatware manually or just (somehow) download a different version of the OS?

Also, any other tips/suggestions/advice that you have for a first time Android user; all greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

To get rid of bloatware completely off the phone you would have to root it and install a Debloated Sense Rom unfortunately if you're going stock the only way to minimize the effects of the bloat is to freeze them through settings/app management.

kwitel

Mar 22, 2013
Visit site
To get rid of bloatware completely off the phone you would have to root it and install a Debloated Sense Rom unfortunately if you're going stock the only way to minimize the effects of the bloat is to freeze them through settings/app management.

Is this difficult to do for a beginner like myself or do you think "freezing" apps is sufficient?

swarlos

Trusted Member
Mar 8, 2010
Visit site
Is this difficult to do for a beginner like myself or do you think "freezing" apps is sufficient?