Why is my Rooted HTC One M8 continually rebooting automatically?

A

AC Question

I rooted my HTC One M8 (2014, AT&T) a while back, and now it keeps rebooting.
I have the Stock Rom installed, but decided to experiment with rooting my phone (first time). I flashed the TWRP recovery, and have SuperSU installed. I had heard that letting your battery run down to 0% once a month was a good Idea, so I decided to do that. Now when I turn it back on, it boots up, turns on the background stuff, and the reboots about 1 minute after my home screen turns on.

Some leads on the problem:
It is charging normally.

I have installed SuperSU's update from the play store, but when I open it, it says the binary needs to be updated, and prompts me to do that. As I said, this is my first time rooting my phone, so I'm hesitant to do that without reading into it more. I'm not sure if that could be causing a problem or not.

I've installed GSam Battery, and it's "Root Companion," though when I tried to give privileges to the root companion, it would restart my phone. So I stopped using that, and uninstalled the root companion from my phone, but left GSam on. In the minute or so that I've had to fiddle with the phone, I have uninstalled GSam as well.

I've also installed XBMC a couple days ago. Not sure if that is a problem either.

Also, when I boot my phone in recovery, it does not reboot automatically, until I reboot into the system. Leading my to further believe that the battery is not the problem.

What limited knowledge I have about these things leads me to believe that some process is starting up automatically and crashing my phone. If anyone has any ideas about what I can do to bring my phone back to life, I would be eternally grateful :)

srkmagnus

Retired Moderator
May 23, 2010
Visit site
Re: Help! Rooted HTC One M8 keeps rebooting automatically