Can't receive MMS over wifi

F8ker8

May 7, 2014
Visit site
I'm new to wifi and wifi calling but am forced to use it because I don't get a signal where I now live... Anytime I get an MMS it won't download.. I have to go find a 4g signal in order for it to download... Why?

Posted via Android Central App

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
I believe MMS on Android always requires mobile data, even if you're using wifi calling.

nestafaria

Oct 1, 2012
Visit site
Same issue. 4g data is available but with WiFi calling enabled and on WiFi I get can't download message. If I turn WiFi calling off and try and re download the message disappears in hangouts. Definitely an issue.

F8ker8

May 7, 2014
Visit site
OK I have to reopen this post for feedback... My M8 won't download MMS over wifi but was told that you can't receive MMS over wifi period... Then why is my girlfriend able to receive MMS over wifi on her galaxy note 2 on the same WiFi signal?

Almeuit

Moderator Team Leader
Apr 17, 2012
Visit site
I assume you're on T-Mobile since you're saying wifi calling... If so then only use the stock app. 3rd party messengers can't use T-Mobile's wifi calling protocol.. Only stock will work.

I can't send MMS on wifi calling via my 3rd party... Only by stock. Same goes with receiving..... If on mobile data then it doesn't matter what I use.

Sent from my T-Mobile Note 3 using AC Forums.

ttwiitch

Dec 2, 2012
Visit site
I assume you're on T-Mobile since you're saying wifi calling... If so then only use the stock app. 3rd party messengers can't use T-Mobile's wifi calling protocol.. Only stock will work.

I can't send MMS on wifi calling via my 3rd party... Only by stock. Same goes with receiving..... If on mobile data then it doesn't matter what I use.

Exactly this. Had the same issue on my GS3....had to use stock messaging app in order to work via WiFi.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using AC Forums mobile app

kraski

Jan 3, 2009
Visit site