Okay so I am fairly new to the Android scene so please go easy. I have been experimenting with my phone with some launchers and I've settled for Nova which is pretty nice, but my main concern is does me switching to ART mean my warranty is void? Or am I getting the concept of this wrong, is switching to ART rooting or is that a totally different thing all together?

I know these question will be "noob" like to most of you, but as I said, I am fairly new to Android devices and would appreciate the help a lot.

Thank you.
    10-27-2014 09:09 AM
    Welcome to the forums.
    does me switching to ART mean my warranty is void?
    No. It is a different runtime, but it should not void the warranty. Rooting is completely different.

Be careful about ART though. Right now, it is experimental on anything lower than Lollipop.
    10-27-2014 09:27 AM
    Welcome to the forums.

No. It is a different runtime, but it should not void the warranty. Rooting is completely different.
    Thank you for the welcome, it's a nice website here! Lot's of good info.

I will switch to it now then as I want to see if I get any performance improvements.

Thank you.
    Golfdriver97 likes this.
    10-27-2014 09:29 AM
    Okay so I am fairly new to the Android scene so please go easy. I have been experimenting with my phone with some launchers and I've settled for Nova which is pretty nice, but my main concern is does me switching to ART mean my warranty is void? Or am I getting the concept of this wrong, is switching to ART rooting or is that a totally different thing all together?

I know these question will be "noob" like to most of you, but as I said, I am fairly new to Android devices and would appreciate the help a lot.

Thank you.
    Welcome!

Switching to art will not void your warranty and it is not rooting.
    Just keep in mind that this is still technically a developmental feature and is not fully functional. (For the most part it is)