Verizon HTC One M8 Lollipop Update Thread

law2010

Feb 17, 2013
Visit site
Hey all:

I just updated my Verizon HTC One M8 to Lollipop using the two OTA's that came from Verizon today. As soon as I received the final message letting me know that Lollipop installed properly, I shut my phone down and did a cache partition wipe, which took about 2 seconds after I got into the recovery menu.

I rebooted my phone and let it sit for a few minutes just to make sure the phone had time to sort itself out before I started playing with it to see how well the Lollipop update ran. My phone did get warm while it was updating, however it started to cool off after the update and is now cool to the touch while in use, so I do not believe there are any heat/drain issues with this update as of yet. Should that start to happen, I will post about it.

So far, my phone has handled Lollipop like a champ. All of the apps are opening just as fast, and in the case of Google Hangouts, faster than they were on 4.4.4 Kit Kat. I was also impressed that HTC kept the old sound profiles as opposed to the standard Lollipop ones that have been such a headache for so many.

I created this thread for Verizon M8 users as well as other M8 users to chime in on how the Lollipop update is treating them. So far my Verizon M8 has been flawless.

Rhyalus

Jun 29, 2014
Visit site
Thanks for sharing your experience so far...

Did you do a factory reset at all, or just the cache wipe?

Thanks,
R

psp219

Aug 26, 2014
Visit site
I just updated with no cache or factory wipe. Battery seems to be draining pretty fast.

Posted via the Android Central App

elvee68

Dec 19, 2010
Visit site
I did a factory reset before and after the update plus the cache partition wipe last.

The phone did get hot during update but has since cooled off and running fine.

I am in the process of syncing everything back up. It will take a few days to settle down to determine battery and other performances. But so far so good.