*** TAMPERED *** RELOCKED *** Security Warning *** Bricked HTC One?? Help!

htconem8bricked

Mar 31, 2016
Visit site
Hi Guys,

Android Newbie here, my coworker gave me his bricked phone and I'm trying to get it working since he let me have it for free. I'm not super familiar with Androids in general, so hoping for some help here. Basically, here is the background on the phone: HTC One M8 AT&T.

From my coworker: I honestly don't remember why it's bricked. It has S-On, and it boots directly into fastboot. It doesn't go into recovery, even though it did have CWM on it. I can't remember if i'm using a custom kernel, but I THINK it is. I spent a ton of time trying to recover it and sideload a recovery mod with ADB. My laptop wouldn't recognize that the phone was plugged in.

^^That sounds like a foreign language to me!

Here is a picture of what the phone looks like now:

image1-2.jpg

When I plug the phone into my computer, it doesn't seem to recognize it, but the phone does change from FASTBOOT to FASTBOOT USB.

I've dug around a lot here, but can't seem to get it going. I have a Macbook as well, not a PC so that has stopped me from downloading some files here.

Anyone know what is going on? Is it hard bricked? Can my phone be saved?

Thanks!

Attachments

• image1.JPG
    image1.JPG
    33.1 KB · Views: 36

htconem8bricked

Mar 31, 2016
Visit site
So I've been doing more digging. Sounds like I need to get my phone back to S-OFF and Unlocked? I can't seem to get my Macbook to recognize the device, so I'm wondering how I'm even going to be able to get this to work. I've downloaded some files, watched some videos, but most seem to be outdated and many are for PCs.

Still pretty stuck. Any suggestions?

htconem8bricked

Mar 31, 2016
Visit site
Hi All,

Does anyone have any thoughts or ideas for this? Really love to know where to even start on this. :(