The HTC M9 beat the S6 in daylight with the new Camera

bigrey81

Jun 7, 2010
Visit site
Based on the DSLR image. The new HTC firmware actually doesn't match the colours of the building. I downloaded M9 and S6 close ups and viewed the images side by side on my desktop with the DSLR image. The HTC close up is darker than it should be. The S6 close up is more washed out and is too light compared to the DSLR sample. The 1.40 is an improvement overall though.

Okay based on the DSLR image, can we agree that the new update for the HTC One m9 puts it on par with the S6 camera ?

Posted via the Android Central App

petvas72

Apr 14, 2014
Visit site
I am no photography expert, but to my eyes and at least in bright sunlight it looks good. The question is, how does the camera perform in low light situations? What about video recording?

neo905

Apr 4, 2014
Visit site
Okay based on the DSLR image, can we agree that the new update for the HTC One m9 puts it on par with the S6 camera ?

Ummm, no. Because as I've said. My issue has never been photos in great lighting but low light ones and the shaky video. There are no details on those improvements.

Cool Jeff

Jul 16, 2013
Visit site
Ummm, no. Because as I've said. My issue has never been photos in great lighting but low light ones and the shaky video. There are no details on those improvements.

You can't get the same results as on the S6 with M9 for very low light, take it for granted!
The S6 has an OIS that helps reduce the shutter speed up to 1/8s while with the M9 it's perhaps about 1/20s, slower than that and the photo is blurred, so yes the S6 has naturally more light coming in the low light photos that why the S6 doesn't need to use ISO 1600 that produces lot of noise to compensate like the M9 does.
I am like many others a daylight photo shooter, I rarely take photos at night so I don't bother.
Btw I took selfies with the S6 in low light and the results were catastrophic while the M9 was crisp and detailed.