HTC Vivid 4.0.3 root help

DovahBear

Jan 10, 2013
Visit site
Can anyone please help me in rooting my vivd? Im new to rooting and wanna know how to do it. If possible please give a step by step tutorial :(

OperationA7X

Jul 6, 2012
Visit site
All right, the way I rooted my Vivid. No issues whatsoever.

STARTING FROM SCRATCH

1) Gather all these files:

HTC Drivers: http://db.tt/Pi0WLxUf

Fastboot Folder: http://db.tt/2Zg3UeCw

SuperUser Zip File: http://db.tt/n4tr8lwi

Recovery: http://db.tt/oJNL1hPs

(WildChild, if you see this and wish for me to take down the link to your custom recovery, please PM me. And to others, please alert him, I don't want to be in trouble is all.)

2) Install the HTC drivers, place the Fastboot folder on your desktop for easeness.

3) Backup your apps, contacts, text messages, and anything else you want to keep, because later, you're gonna have to unlock your bootloader (shown later).

4) Unlock your bootloader. Now, in order to flash a custom recovery, backup your ROM, etc., you need to have an unlocked bootloader. You can do this at: www.htcdev.com and select Unlock Bootloader. You need to register, so just make an account real quick and you're good to go. Select the HTC Vivid and follow the instructions. NOTE: UNLOCKING THE BOOTLOADER WILL FACTORY RESET YOUR DEVICE, THAT'S WHY I RECOMMENDED BACKING UP WHAT YOU PLANNED TO KEEP.

5) Place the SuperUser zip file on your SD card.

ALREADY UNLOCKED THE BOOTLOADER

All right, you made it this far, why stop now? Time to flash that custom recovery and root your phone! You can mod it later, I'll explain later. All right, so now, place your phone into Fastboot mode by holding the Volume Down and Power button until you see the HBOOT screen. From there, select FASTBOOT, and connect your device to your PC. Confirm it says FASTBOOT USB in the red banner. Let's do this!

1) Place the downloaded recovery [wcxrecovery.img] inside of the Fastboot command folder.