Are all usb chargers the same?

whitenack

May 20, 2010
Visit site
Can I use some of my old USB chargers on any phone? I have seen articles online saying that all USB chargers are the same, and that it won't hurt the device, but I would want a little more assurance.

sklemp

Apr 23, 2010
Visit site
They are all the same. USB 2.0 is a standard. They all provide 5 Volts and have the same pin arrangement on the plugs.

You're safe.

Mark_Venture

Oct 30, 2009
mark.cdmaforums.com
I can't give you a definitive answer, but I can say this...

a PC's USB port is usually spec'd to put out 5v and 500ma.

Chargers I have from my older blackberries, motorola phones, and smart phones which have a USB end on them have 5v output, but 500, 550, 750, 850 and 1000 ma. The higher ma rated chargers do charge my devices faster.

So far, I've been using the same chargers with all my phones since 2007... it hasn't hurt one of my phones yet.

For the phones that have MicroUSB ports on them, I use the Moto SKN6252A adapters, and still continue to use my older chargers at my desk.

I'v done this with my Moto Razrs (v3c and V9M), Moto Q9m, Blackberries (too many to list), HTC VX6900, Moto Droid, Moto Devour, HTC Inc, etc.

trebores

May 20, 2010
Visit site
I can't give you a definitive answer, but I can say this...

Chargers I have from my older blackberries, motorola phones, and smart phones which have a USB end on them have 5v output, but 500, 550, 750, 850 and 1000 ma. The higher ma rated chargers do charge my devices faster.

So far, I've been using the same chargers with all my phones since 2007... it hasn't hurt one of my phones yet.

For the phones that have MicroUSB ports on them, I use the Moto SKN6252A adapters, and still continue to use my older chargers at my desk.

I'v done this with my Moto Razrs (v3c and V9M), Moto Q9m, Blackberries (too many to list), HTC VX6900, Moto Droid, Moto Devour, HTC Inc, etc.