Final questions before I root

tigerchant

May 26, 2010
Visit site
So my first attempt at rooting a device went....ok. I had a spare D1 and rooted it with 2.1 running on it. I have yet to be able to install any custom ROMs on there but that is probably from user error. This is the real thing now, my daily device DInc. is up next. I have a few questions about rooting/ROMs before I make the plunge (again).

1. I understand unrEVOked is the way to go for HTC devices, is there a difference in unrevoked forever vs. unrevoked 3.22? (current software specs listed below for help on this question)

2. After I install this...what next? Clockwork Mod? What exactly is this and this step?

3. What are some custom ROMs that y'all like out there? I'm a newbie, so lead me where ever. What are the differences in ROMS?

4. How can I switch between ROMs?

5. Most importantly, can I revert back to "stock" if I want to after I root?

Version
Kernal 2.6.32 17-g9a2fc16
Release Keys 3.26.605.1 CL264707
Software # 3.26.605.1

Thanks in advance to all that answer! Y'all are what make me suggest this site to every Android user I know!

stellarforce

Jul 20, 2010
Visit site
Answers

Howdy,

1)Unrevoked 3.x is to root your phone and it also installs clockwork mod recovery (to make backups/flash other roms), and then Unrevoked Forever is to make your phone S-off (So you can flash themes and change the radio)

2)Clockwork will be installed with Unrevoked 3.x, and can be reached by holding the volume down button and power when the phone is turned off. (Choose recovery from the hboot menu) Side Note: You don't use the touchscreen in the recovery menu. use the volume up/volume down keys to navigate, click the optical mouse button to confirm, power button to go back a screen.