HTC stuck on HBOOT

cdalton713

Jul 20, 2012
Visit site
Hey everyone,

I was just give an HTC Inspire as a gift with the condition that I could get it working - the previous owner could not. I'm stumped as well. I do not know if this phone has previously been rooted or not.

Anyways, here's a picture of where I'm at. This message flashes for half a second before going back the fastboot, recover, factory reset, etc. screen. I can NOT move use the volume buttons to change my selection factory reset, and pressing the power button does not do anything either. I have to take the battery out to reset it all.
View image: photo
photo.jpg

Although I'm sure they exist, I can not find these files to put back onto the SD card so it can re-load android(if thats what I need to do). I don't care if everything is erased or what happens, as long as I get to back to any stock version of android for this phone. I'm very new to android so links to specific programs/files I may need would be a huge help as well.

Any help to get this running again would be amazing. Thanks

OperationA7X

Jul 6, 2012
Visit site
You'll have to do it, but use the AAHK (Ace Advanced Hack Kit). It will root your phone, install CWM and superuser. Them just flash a ROM if you know how to.

Sent from my HTC Vivid WCX using Android Central Forums

cdalton713

Jul 20, 2012
Visit site
I've downloaded the AAHK kit and am reading the manual that comes with it, and right off the bat I'm seeing that I cant put my phone into USB Debugging, charge-only mode, and that my computer doesn't recognize the phone when I plug it in.

I ran the program anyway, and get the error saying the phone is either not plugged in or USB debugging is off.

What would you recommend that I do next?