Traveling to the UK, Ireland and France, best pay as you go for HTC DNA?

julez

Jul 14, 2010
Visit site
I have never been out of the country before, so I am new to the whole international calling thing.

I have an HTC Droid DNA and know it has a GSM radio in it as well.

My carrier is Verizon, and their international plan is pretty horrendous. I'm thinking somewhere in the neighborhood of x number of minutes and 100mb of data for $40 and $25 for every 100mb after that.

What are my options?

Will_C

Apr 29, 2012
Visit site
For the UK GiffGaff is your best bet, its very cheap and you can pay for only 1 month if you like. You can get 250 Minutes, Unlimited texts and 1GB of data for about $15 a month. There are also tariffs with more (or less) if thats what you need.

WRX13

May 22, 2013
Visit site
I am traveling to the same three places and have similar concerns.

I feel like I've seen so many carriers--is there any reason to choose one over another for a week's stay for any reason other than price?

Krkuenzel

Sep 15, 2011
Visit site
Cant speak to France or Ireland, but Lebara might be a decent option... with a lot of the standard carriers, such as O2, Vodafone etc, I found you have to have a UK bank account to get even the short term plans. The 30 day plans are sometimes included in credit checks, because essentially they are rolling plans every 30 days and you have to cancel them. With Lebara, you can buy credit nearly anywhere and sometimes they have people giving the sims away at the airport. A friend just visited me in London from the US and used Lebara sim in his Note 2. Hope this helps

afgzee

Mar 26, 2013
Visit site
Just decided to post this for anyone reading this thread and it will help you save money if traveling to these countries.