New guy here looking for some advise

dytkd

Jul 22, 2013
Visit site
Hello fellow android users/owners! I am new to the the forum, and I was looking for some advise. I am looking to get a tablet. What I have in mind, nexus 7, new nexus 7 or Tf300T I have been looking for the tf300 for a while now, and i read mainly positive reviews about it, but I could't afford the price tag. I have a $200 budget for my tablet, getting a used tf300 will be even below budget. My main concern is that the model is not as new, and I am afraid 4.2 maybe the last official updated on that device. That takes care of the tf300.
I also liked the nexus 7 a lot, and seeing that the new nexus 7 will be out anyday now, i could used that to my advantage to try to find a nexus 7 for under $100.
In regards to the new nexus 7, well, it seems to be new "right thing for the price". The affordability, specs, and newest updates put it in the front of the line. While the price is only $30 over my budget. I feel like I can way below budget if i go after the tf300 or nexs 7.

Sorry if I am all over the place. in your opinion, what do you think will be best based on, price, specs and availability to OS updates? Keep in mind that I am just the average user. Mainly need the check my email, surf the web, watch videos and video conference with my fam overseas. and some gaming like WWF, or candy crush. LOL. nothing really crazy...

Thank you for all your help.

EvilMonkey

Jun 4, 2010
Visit site
Hi, and welcome to the forums.

For what you want to do with a tablet (email, web surfing, video watching, and video-conferencing), it sounds like the Nexus 7 should meet your needs. I don't know that you'll find one for $100 when the new one is out, but I would think $125-$150 would be reasonable (unless you want to get a used one, in which case you'll find them cheaper).