Rooting the Samsung Prevail on Android 2.3.6

jsjgamer

Mar 3, 2012
Visit site
Hey i am new to rooting android. I just updated my OS after i got my Samsung Prevail and I am at Version 2.3.6. I was talking to a friend and he recommended rooting the phone. I already Jail broke my iPod touch so i figured this shouldn't be much harder. I tried downloading a couple one click root programs from android central but it didn't root because of Operation not permitted error. I did put it into Debugging mode and took the SD Card out too. Any ideas on how i can root it? I want to be able to take off some of the apps that are already installed on it that i will not use so i can free up my space. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!

jsjgamer

Mar 3, 2012
Visit site
the only thing that concerns me bout that tho is most of those are flashing the rom correct? the biggest thing i am worried bout is i just got the phone and i dont want it to be a brick lol. WHat would you suggest? unless you know how to get those unwanted programs off the phone without rooting it lol. because a lot of those programs i cannot uninstall and it bugs me.

mslgs99

Mar 7, 2012
Visit site
Afternoon my Android updated to the 2.3.6 all i want to do is erase the apps i do not use and get some free space on my phone....

werewolves69

Mar 10, 2012
Visit site
There is not 1 app on the Prevail that has to be on there all of them can be erased when phone is fully rooted, maps, contacts everything can be removed when your phone has been rooted

lastsion20

Mar 19, 2012
Visit site
Can someone point me to an actual ROOT that works for the prevail with gingerbread 2.3.6 ? I have tried all of the ones I can find and nothing seems to work. It says "you should have root" but I don't. I have spent an entire day searching and researching and trying this.

lastsion20

Mar 19, 2012
Visit site