Jelly Bean, Ice Cream Sandwich or Gingerbread : Which is better?

Aquila

Retired Moderator
Feb 24, 2012
Visit site
Not necessarily, as even major OS upgrades bring software bugs that were not present in the previous iteration. I've had better experience with Jelly Bean 4.1.2 than Jelly Bean 4.2.2.

You're also on a TouchWiz device, not on stock. They make heavy modifications that change the experience... some in good ways, some in bad ways. 4.2 stock compared to 4.1 stock is better.

Karearea

May 1, 2013
Visit site
I'm new to Android. Wikipedia was my friend in understanding Android versions. I concluded that it's not usual to upgrade Android so the version supplied on your phone when you buy it is pretty much what you've got till you buy a new one. Win95 and Win7 were both pretty good and stable except many easy to use features have been expunged over the intervening period. Running Win7 on a 95 capable computer is asking for unhappiness and vice versa likewise. Here is my limited experience so far:

Samsung galaxy mini 2 GT-6500D 800MHz 3 1/4"
Gingerbread 2.3.6
Uses: phone, texting, GPS navigation, music, WiFi hotspot
Satisfaction: 110%

Samsung Galaxy Note 2 GT-N7105 1.6GHz 5 1/2" s pen
Jellybean 4.1.2
Uses: handwritten notes, read online and kindle reference books and pdf scientific papers, photographs, read MS office files, USB transfer to desktop computers.
Satisfaction 80%
Problems: awkward USB access, insufficient privacy, Firefox performs poorly (Chrome goes great but I would rather not), flakey external SD card
Unexpectedly good: handwriting recognition, reading office docs, very quick smooth touch performance, 3G hotspot speed 13MBps (twice what I get by copper line)

They're different tools. GB is very efficient on a hardworking telephone. JB can do the job of a desktop OS if you have the real estate.

I'll update but, seeing everyone's experiences here, will be upversioning as little as possible - not broke.

HNNNNNGHHH

Feb 21, 2013
Visit site