Why do Web videos play better on iOS than android?

CeasarNY

Oct 20, 2013
Visit site
I'm a new Android user. I've been using the Galaxy Note 3 for the last 2 months but I still have my iPhone 5. Something that I've noticed is that a lot of videos that play on ios don't play on android. And if I can play the video on my Android then the video is much more laggy and not as clear than on my iPhone 5. These are regular websites like sports websites (nhl, nba, espn etc) or Team Stream app/website, or random other sites that have videos for mobile devices. Sometimes (with my Android) on sites, the video shows the play button, but the video still doesn't play. I don't understand this because on my iPhone 5 the videos play perfectly, load much quicker, play and look smoother, and just look more clear. Can anyone help with this? Or is this just something that android lacks in its OS?

Posted via Android Central App

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site
Don't know what's wrong with your phone, mine plays everything just fine and yes, makes iPhones look silly with their tiny screens (Sorry, your post sounds like iOS spam, so I had to respond accordingly on instinct, I apologize hehe). That being said, I do know that some sites 'switch' to Quicktime format for iOS and regular HTML5 or Flash-based video for other platforms. The problem with Flash is that, as you may know, it's no longer supported on Android (unless you manually install the APK and use very specific browsers, and still you're in for a buggy experience), so that might be why there's a difference. But again, I've used mine with tons of sites with video and, except for those that default to Flash, all others play just fine and with great video quality (provided my connection is good, too).

CeasarNY

Oct 20, 2013
Visit site