Android is Open Source ... Why can't we put stock KitKat on any device?

akin_t

Sep 29, 2014
Visit site
Okay so I'm new to this whole messing around with your phone thing; as a result, there are probably many concepts that I misunderstand. I'm hoping you guys can help me clear them up.

I understand what open source means. It means the source code is available for everyone to tinker with right? And we're free to make changes to it.

I understand some devices need to be rooted and have their bootloaders unlocked before custom versions of Android can be installed on them. However, once this process is complete ... Why then do we have to put CM on our devices instead of just going with stock Android?

Say I don't buy a Google Play Edition phone (say Sony Xperia Z3 for instance) but I want pure unadulterated KitKat 4.4.4 ... How do I get that?

zorak950

Feb 2, 2011
Visit site
Pure "stock" Android sucks. Google services are what makes it functional. Think of Android AOSP like a skeleton: ROMs and Google put meat on the bones. In short, nobody does pure AOSP builds of Android outside the hardcore geek community because nobody wants them.

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site
You get the concept, but you're forgetting about the implementation. Not all phones are created equal. The OS is one thing, and the code is out there for anyone to tinker with, but to adapt it to your specific hardware, further modification needs to be done to the code, so you can't just load the stock ROM image (usually for a Nexus device) and expect it to work right off the bat.

That's where ROMs come into play. If someone with your phone wanted 'pure Android', they can do it! They can take the KitKat code from the repository and adapt it to the specific hardware and create a ROM. CM is just another ROM, but it took it further and made it easier for you to load it up onto most any phone.