Help with ads on android please - new user

chappers34

Jan 17, 2015
Visit site
Hi, I'm completely new to the android OS. I bought a generic tablet which claims to have android 4.2.2 on it, for my young son to play games on.

He's been playing hay day but full screen adverts keep appearing, notably Guinness and wowcher ads. They interrupt the game randomly but sometimes the same one will play over and over after only about 20 seconds since the previous one. Sometimes after closing the ad the hay day game actually reloads as if it was shut down.

Is this an advert served by the OS itself or something the game is doing? Either way, can it be stopped? Having 5 full screen ads play one after the other with only seconds in between makes the game unplayable.

Thanks for any help!

meyerweb#CB

Banned
Sep 4, 2009
Visit site
Ads like that are not part of normal Android. But manufacturers have a fair bit of freedom to modify the Android OS, so it's possible that the company that made your generic tablet decided to brute force ads on it's users to make up for the low cost of the tablet. What kind of tablet is it?

Many free games do have ads, but I don't see any complaints on the Play Store about ads being a problem with this one. Did you download Hay Day from the Play Store, or get it from somewhere else?

t's also possible something else you downloaded is forcing the ads, even if you're not actively using that other app.

I'd suggest a couple of things. Stop Hay Day, and reboot. See if the ads come up when you're not doing anything with the tablet, or when you're using any other apps. If so, it's not Hay Day. If the ads only pop up in Hay Day, that would seem to be the problem app. The Play Store listing has links to the company's web site and an email address: https://forums.androidcentral.com/e...?id=com.supercell.hayday&hl=en&token=hIM8X7GR