UPDATED: "Downloading in GPRS will use data. Continue?" warning is driving me nuts...

UglyStuff

Jan 27, 2018
Visit site
Hello everybody,

I'm new to Android, and I'm still in the process of getting used to some of its, er, peculiarities?

For example, I often see a warning pop up on my screen, that tells me that I'm about to install an app or download an update using the cellular network instead of WiFi, and am I sure I want to continue, just in case I wouldn't know what I'm doing (of which, granted, I'm not sure 99% of the time, but that's beside the point, and I like to live on the bleeding edge anyway, and I'm rambling...)...?

This is driving nuts no end, because after checking all, and I mean ALL settings in the Parameter menu, I can't find a box to check or uncheck that will rid me of those pestering pop ups.

I must add a precision here: it doesn't come in the way of an icon in the notification area, but rather as someone here referred to as a "toast", and I have to tap "OK" every, single, darn time to proceed.

Like I said: "nuts, no end".

I've even disabled WiFi altogether, just to let the phone and the system know that the only connection available was cellular, no go.

Ideas, tips, incantations, anyone...? Please-please-please...?

UPDATE: someone in an other forum suggested that those notifications could be "toasts" to warn me of mobile data usage, and I didn't realize what a "toast" was. I took a lot for granted when I first started to use my Android phone, but I've started to gather a little more, er, data since then, and I now know what a "toast" is.

In my case, it's a dialog box, where a user input is required before the connection to mobile data can proceed. In other words, if I don't tap "OK", the app or service or process that needs to connect to the Internet to do its job will be on hold.

Of course, if that happens when the screen is locked and the phone's in my pocket, well, nothing happens...