Screen Randomly Turns on, then off

blkcheech

Nov 20, 2013
Visit site
I am new to Android. I have had iPhones for the past 5 or 6 years, and finally got sick of it. I just picked up the LG G2 yesterday, and so far I love it. I have been sitting her working at my desk and noticing, that every once in a while, like every few minutes, the screen comes on, then turns off. I am connected to WiFi, and I do have a Otterbox Defender case on it. I don't think this is normal behavior, but being new to Android, I am not really sure. Can anyone tell me how to stop this, and/or if it is normal? Thanks!

heggood

May 20, 2011
Visit site
No, it's not normal, only help I can give at the moment. Mine has the same bug, hopefully someone else with helpful info will chime in. Other than that and the YouTube chrome cast display bug my phone is awesome.

blkcheech

Nov 20, 2013
Visit site
I have confirmed a couple things:

1. This does not happen when not connected to WiFi.

2. So far I have only seen this happen while the phone is connected to WiFi. Seems odd.

Posted via Android Central App

bespinct

Apr 24, 2010
Visit site
I have confirmed a couple things:

1. This does not happen when not connected to WiFi.

2. So far I have only seen this happen while the phone is connected to WiFi. Seems odd.

Interesting. Does it happen on every Wi-Fi network? I haven't noticed it and my phone sits right next to my monitor on a Qi charger all day, on Wi-Fi. I wonder if it's struggling to keep its connection to the network and the screen coming on is when it reconnects.

blkcheech

Nov 20, 2013
Visit site
Interesting. Does it happen on every Wi-Fi network? I haven't noticed it and my phone sits right next to my monitor on a Qi charger all day, on Wi-Fi. I wonder if it's struggling to keep its connection to the network and the screen coming on is when it reconnects.