Can't OTA update with stock firmware. Bootloop issue.

cptn_smelly

Jan 16, 2014
Visit site
I have a rooted LG G2. When I try to get my OTA update with stock rom (I haven't installed any other roms) it says "installing and restarting phone" and then the phone restarts to clock work mod and gets stuck in a CWM bootloop. In order to get the phone to boot into my OS again, I need to type some code into ADB and then it boots to my OS with no data loss but the update isn't applied and I keep getting update prompts. I've tried unrooting and updating and that doesn't work either. What the hell is going on? This makes no sense at all.

I'm with Bell Canada. Please help me fix this.

Thanks.

cptn_smelly

Jan 16, 2014
Visit site
I'm a noob. How does one install stock recovery? You mean factory reset the phone? Then do I update and bring back my nandroid backup or something?

rackumrack

Jan 16, 2011
Visit site
I'm a noob. How does one install stock recovery? You mean factory reset the phone? Then do I update and bring back my nandroid backup or something?

To be honest my g2 is the only phone I have not rooted so l am unsure of the exact process to flash the stock recovery. I'm am not sure if you will be able to obtain root again with the OTA you are going to take. Hopefully someone can chime in with a method for you. Resetting the phone will not get rid of cwm recovery. The only way the update package will work is with the stock recovery, unless you can find the update in a flashable zip or sideload it but I'm not sure you will keep root in the process.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

cptn_smelly

Jan 16, 2014
Visit site