VZW LG G2 now fills up, can't get free memory.

3snakes

Jan 11, 2010
Visit site
I've deleted all my music, most photos, uninstalled about 6 apps, and cleared cache in many others. I've had this phone since November. Up until about 3 weeks ago I never used more than about 17 Gb or so, and had loads of music, photos, and apps. Now, even with everything I can think of removed or uninstalled it shows as virtually full most of the time. Sometimes it tells me I can't get more email or texts as memory is full. It shows just 100-200 Mb free out of the 32 Gb. How do you tell it to "clear stuff already deleted" or whatever? Can it be defragmented? I scanned with free version of Avast! many times - no problems. I just uninstalled Avast! hoping to make more room. No luck. Any ideas? FYI - I'm new to Android and don't know how to root and such. THANKS.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central! Could you post some screenshots of your Settings>Storage menu? It would help to see that breakdown.

In the meantime, try using an app that can list and sort your files in order of size, to see if there's some huge leftover file or files that are taking up space. You could try Storage Analyser.

Also, consider deleting all of your texting threads, especially if they include photos or videos--that can take up a decent amount of space (although typically not in the multi-GB figures).

3snakes

Jan 11, 2010
Visit site
Wow - thanks for your rapid help! A requested screen shot is attached. If I click "Apps" within "Storage" there seem to be too many pages of apps to easily screen shot.