I got a G3 from a friend. It has Lollipop 5.0.1. Everything seems to work except the cell signal has no "bars" and there is an x over them. I have hard reset it a few times, and poked around a few places but this seems like a bigger problem, possibly hardware. Can anyone step me through diagnosing?
    01-30-2018 04:18 PM
    Are you using the right SIM for it? Is it network-locked?
    01-30-2018 06:32 PM
    I just figured out how to log on here. I checked the ESN on a web site and it appears fine. The sim is a micro-sim that works fine in my Lumia 640. The phone is an LG G3 D850 which is designated as AT&T, which is the network I'm on. I've been googling and trying things but some menu options aren't where directions say, and the "secret menu" "doesn't work on this device". I'm a tech guy but can't say I know that much about phone problems.
    01-30-2018 06:46 PM
    I don't want to cross-thread but I posted this in another part but thought maybe the LG group might know more

https://forums.androidcentral.com/as...g-g3-d850.html
    01-31-2018 02:35 PM
    Go to Settings>Mobile Networks>Network Operators and make sure AT&T is selected there. Also, if you see a Preferred Network Type option, make sure that's set to Global or LTE.
    01-31-2018 06:52 PM
    I went ahead and merged your two threads and kept it in the G3 forum, so that we don't have duplicate conversations.
    01-31-2018 06:53 PM
    Thanks, whatever you think the best place is.

In settings I have "Tethering & Networks"
    In there is "Mobile Networks"
    In there I have:

"Mobile Data" with Standard Data and Enhanced 4G LTE Services, both boxes checked
    "International Data Roaming" with the same Standard and Enhanced 4G LTE, both boxes unchecked (Checking them didn't help)
    "Access Point Names" with ATT Nextgenphone with the proper settings in it. Selected or not makes no difference
    "Search for AT&T MicroCell" which finds nothing
    01-31-2018 09:24 PM