New G6 owner

FirminK

Sep 14, 2017
Visit site
Hi all, Im Firmin. Im a graphic designer and recently bought G6 after I was disappointed with Oneplus3T slow auto fokus on camera. After that I took P10 but that one had really great camera. Pics were a bit less saturated and low light photos werent great but HDR was doing ok and details are amazing. The problem was the lack of oleophobic coating on the screen (very smudgy and dirty screen), small screen, screen dimming issue and phone was getting hot rather fast. I was reading alot about G6 and its wide angle feature which I really like now. The screen is fantastic, screen to bodio ratio in G6 is great and battery is much better than oneplus 3t and P10. Also it feels more sturdy. Double tap to wake/sleep is nice feature and always on screen is handy but kinda hard to read in really sunny day.
Overall Im very happy with the G6 (also the sound from video is amazing and OIS is doing a better job than in P10).
The problem I have with the G6s camera is tendency to oversharpen and overcontrast some picures. The faces of my kids are occasionaly posterized when I slightly zoom my pics, even noticable on my phone (but after zoom applied). It seams that LG is doing some heavy post processing on the images. I was reading that was fixed in one of the updates but it seams its not. Otherwise, colors are accurate and there are details on the pics but randomly it gets smudgy, sketchy and faces are slightly posterized. Why that wasnt fixed? That is a software issue right? I can take shots in raw but that shouldnt be a solution, specially for average users. Should I go fully manual or do you have any advice? I feel like P10 was getting more light into the lens and much less postsaturation with just a slightly less correct colors.

Nuuklear

Sep 14, 2017
Visit site
Welcome to the G6.