Rooting, Unlocking, Adding a new sim (in Italy)! Is it possible? Please help!

Emily Stibbe

Dec 26, 2012
Visit site
Hi,
I'm fairly new to rooting, unlocking, etc., so please bear with me!

I recently moved to Italy and am trying to figure out a way I can keep using my Virgin Mobile LG Optimus Elite. The last time I moved abroad, I unlocked (using a code I bought online) and added a new SIM to my Samsung Propel, no problem. Even though the Optimus Elite is a smartphone and a lot more complicated, I had hoped I'd eventually be able to do the same to it.

However... is it even possible?

1. My phone is unable to connect to any networks over here (what normally is supposed to happen when this phone leaves the States). It does however connect to wifi... meaning, while Browser works, any other apps (such as Google Play Store) don't function. Because they don't, does this mean I'll even be able to root it? Would following the steps listed here (http://forums.androidcentral.com/op...7329-rooting-your-optimus-elite-easy-way.html) for example, even be possible since I can't download the Super User app from the Play Store? Are there any other ways to root it or get around this?

2. Is rooting my phone even necessary, if all I want to do is add a new SIM? Say if I add a Vodafone SIM from here, would that resolve the app-not-functioning issue, since it wouldn't be my old Virgin Mobile SIM that's out of bounds? Or is this not related to the SIM card at all?