GPS turns on during phone calls

fabe#AC

Sep 8, 2011
Visit site
Re: Gps turns on during phone calls

Ok I'm sorry...
first download it to your phone...
Download script manager at playstore...
Open script manager and look for the file (script) and run it WITH root privileges...
I hope this help

Enviado desde mi LG-E980 usando Tapatalk 2

amateur_android_user

Sep 6, 2013
Visit site

I have never done a root before im kinda concerned that if i mess up i will brick my phone and render it useless. Do you know the easiest way to do it?

Posted via Android Central App

fabe#AC

Sep 8, 2011
Visit site

Don't forget to let us know if this works for you

Metal Chaos

Jun 29, 2013
Visit site

This is getting on my nerves. WTF could possibly need to know my location every few minutes? Has AT&T said anything about this? Or perhaps even LG?

TheyStoleMyName

Mar 5, 2013
Visit site

I have not heard anything from att or lg about this. I just got a replacement last night and I have not had it happen yet. It had all the same software versions and apps installed. But usually it took a bit for it to happen.

Also I had gone into an art Corp store and my GPS was turning when. I was there not making a call. I turned it off and it would immediately turn back on.

Sent from my LG-E980 using AC Forums mobile app

inibrius

Sep 11, 2013
Visit site

I believe that I've found the culprit for this. The Accu-Weather app (the weather and clock widget) tries to read the location settings hourly. There is no toggle for it, and it automatically turns on the GPS if it was turned off.

Go into the app, take off the 'automatic' city (the one with the red location arrow next to it) and it will still update the weather but it won't touch the GPS anymore.

Ever since I've done that I haven't seen any more occurrence of this.

burgate

Aug 28, 2013
Visit site

Tried what you suggested with the Accu-Weather app. Didn't work. GPS still turns on when making or receiving calls.

amateur_android_user