drewwalton19216801

Dec 27, 2010
Visit site
Here a tutorial I'm currently educating myself with

Tutorial: Android Internals - Building a Custom ROM, Pt. 1 of 2 - YouTube

And this one claims to be more simplified on explaining android Roms

http://h4oxer.wordpress.com/building-an-android-rom/

Sent from my LS670 using Android Central Forums

That youtube video only explains how to compile from source. But you need a proper source tree.

That second link...utterly useless. All it does is explain what each core component does and has almost nothing to do with making a custom ROM.

Reactions: vernotzy21

vernotzy21

Oct 20, 2011
Visit site
That youtube video only explains how to compile from source. But you need a proper source tree.

That second link...utterly useless. All it does is explain what each core component does and has almost nothing to do with making a custom ROM.

im still learning what core component are.....:'(..:p today i learned what .so file are:D but i didnt get to the part on how to edit them and i learned how to edit the framework-res and systemui.apk or at least the graphics the tutorial that i read said to use notepad++ but whenever i open xml files all the code says is "null" everywhere there should be xml code???? im a little confused on that and then tomarrow im gonna learn how to use apktool
and i pretty much understand the system libs and how they work with .apks but thats about it

got any good tips......think of me as a ed 3 yr old in a helmet please go slow.......its my first time;) and im severly LD but once i figure it out im gonna bust roms all over the place:cool:

jstntp

/\C...D3\/
Feb 6, 2011
Visit site
You will need to decompile the apk's with apktool, such as framework-res.apk and SystemUI.apk in order to edit the xml files. Sounds like you were headed that direction anyway so keep goin!! cracking the rom/apk's/files open and exploring is the best way to learn IMO.

vernotzy21

Oct 20, 2011
Visit site