MIUI - Input appreciated...

res6jya6

Oct 24, 2011
Visit site
What is the appeal of MIUI? I went on Wikipedia and all it seems to be is a bloated GUI slapped on top of Android. No app drawer, and icons that look like they belong on a pre-K Leapfrog tablet.

gollum18

Oct 10, 2011
Visit site
I'm not an miui expert, but I'm pretty sure its supposed to replicate the look and feel of an iPhone that's why there is no app drawer. But I totally agree with you I don't want to shy away from androids awesomeness for an iPhone clone.

Edit - ask me or invincible madness they'll give you the rundown on miui.

vernotzy21

Oct 20, 2011
Visit site
Miui is cool but if anyone wants to do something new it should support landscape home screen. support flash.the cm7 port of it I like a lot but with these 2 things missing it misses the target completely and I have to recommend something eles(although I'm sure its just because development phase)

res6jya6

Oct 24, 2011
Visit site
I guess the main reason I ask is, IMHO, it doesn't seem to "add" anything to the Android experience... only takes away from it. Are there kernel changes, etc. that make this "cooler" or is it merely looks? From what I understand, it's nothing more than a fancy GUI, or over-complex "theme".

I don't want anything that looks or acts like an iPhone. When I see people walking around flashing their iPhone 4S I just want to kick them. "You're not cool, buddy!"

me2151

Sep 13, 2011
Visit site
I guess the main reason I ask is, IMHO, it doesn't seem to "add" anything to the Android experience... only takes away from it. Are there kernel changes, etc. that make this "cooler" or is it merely looks? From what I understand, it's nothing more than a fancy GUI, or over-complex "theme".

I don't want anything that looks or acts like an iPhone. When I see people walking around flashing their iPhone 4S I just want to kick them. "You're not cool, buddy!"

It is a fancy UI but its main point is the ability to theme easily.