"Low on space" - does rooting help?

anon(205625)

Mar 4, 2011
Visit site
Had my Optimus S for a little over a year now and have been mostly happy with it. The big exception is that I am always getting the "Low on Space" warnings that prevent incoming text messages, and sometimes even prevent the Browser from working. Usually, but not always, clearing the browser cache & data is enough to clear the warning, but this is annoying. I don't have a ton of apps installed. Sometimes out of frustration, I remove an app I can live without, and that clears the warning, but then it inevitably comes back again. If I keep it up I'll be down to like 2 apps!

I get a general sense from these forums that rooting / custom ROM will help, but I have no experience with rooting. So I want to confirm it would help before I take the risk.

Other noob question about rooting/custom ROMs: all of my standard apps should work fine correct? Telenav GPS, Google Maps, etc?

I haven't upgraded my phone to Gingerbread (because doing so breaks the wi-fi hotspot hack I found on here or another forum) but can do it if it's better for the rooting. My understanding is once rooted, there are other options for the wi-fi hotspot.

Thanks!

drewwalton19216801

Dec 27, 2010
Visit site
Rooting will not magically solve the issues you are experiencing. Rooting is like finding the key to a room you didn't know you had. The key will unlock the door, but YOU have to open the door and see the wonders (or horrors :p) that await you.

What you are experiencing is LG's sorry excuse for data space. Most custom ROMs have tweaks enabled that can help regain some of that space but ultimately the Optimus S is a very low-space device.

Invincible Madness

Jul 1, 2011
Visit site