04-09-2011 12:43 PM
31 12
tools
    I have a LG Optimus s, Yesterday i wanted to try rooting it, so i tried using http://forum.androidcentral.com/lg-o...s-edition.html

After 30 attempts this wouldnt work and I figured out why- i had the OTA update from sprint. I found the revert thread and reverted back to v9, and attempted rooting again. I still had no luck so I used z4 root which came back successful. I proceeded to install ROM Manager and attempted flashing clockwork onto my phone because that was the only other way i could think of doing it without root access from my pc. (im a noob at this) It said it was successful but when i try to boot into recovery from either ROM Manager or from the 3 finger salute it either gets stuck on lg screen or just a black screen, i cannot access the recovery mode at all. I cannot get root now, and i cannot access recovery mode to flash any roms or anything. Is there a hard reset somewhere on the device that i can access without recovery mode that will fix this problem? Help?

Thanks all, Braden
    03-21-2011 05:15 PM
    You'll probably make things worse trying to reset it. No reset will by itself fix what you did to the phone.

If you can still boot into ZV9, use z4root to get root again then flash CWMA recovery.

http://forum.androidcentral.com/lg-o...-2518-6-a.html
    erest likes this.
    03-21-2011 05:37 PM
    Note: ROM Manager does not work with the Optimus S.
    erest likes this.
    03-21-2011 06:29 PM
    Thanks guys i finally figured it out- i didnt realize when i used z4 root or superoneclick(which also works btw) i had to type "su" into the android terminal. I did that then followed the guide above and downloaded xionia to sd then used the android terminal (download from marketplace) and voila! It worked! Thanks all time to start flashing a custom rom xD
    03-21-2011 11:44 PM
    Ive tried all this and i am still getting stuck on lg splash. Frustrated helpppp. Ive got zv9. Rooted via z4
    04-08-2011 12:04 AM