I might have bricked my phone with Rom Manager. Please help.

doughpe

Jun 28, 2011
Visit site
I used Gingersnap 1 Click root to obviously root my Optimus S (LGLS670). My friend did the same thing, but he said that he went to the market and downloaded Roms using Rom Manager.

An idiot like me decided to listen to him, so I'm stuck at a possible dilemma.
This is my first time doing a root, so I'll just tell you what I noticed to be different post root and Rom Manager:

Longer Startup
Android Market - comes up with a white screen and then crashes
Voice Search - "Application is not installed on your phone."
Contacts - some names show up, but most don't. This occurs in my texting/calling logs. (This has happened before, but usually a phone reboot would solve the problem.)

Out of the 4 problems, the Android Market and Contacts bother me most. Please help me.

blackops1125

Advisor
Mar 19, 2011
Visit site
And yet another one.
There needs to be a noticed posted when entering this fourm that Rom manger IS NOT SUPPORTED!
Hopefully you have a custom recovery installed? If you do wipe caches,data and install (flash) a Rom the correct way! (Recommend Reborn Rom)
sent from my Reborn Optimus

Last edited:

jadenj5

May 31, 2011
Visit site
if you were bricked it wouldnt boot. download a rom the RIGHT way and flash it from recovery. id wipe every 2-3 times just in case.

people really need to read before they do stuff.

captmeach7

Nov 28, 2010
Visit site
And yet another one.
There needs to be a noticed posted when entering this fourm that Rom manger IS NOT SUPPORTED!

There is a sticky, but how many people just go doing stuff before actually trying to find out what they should be doing.....

Is there some kind of warning on ROM manager? Maybe we should ask the dev to put up something to the effect of don't use with Opti S on his market page.

jondevere

Jan 18, 2011
Visit site