Bricked? LG Optimus S

Harlequenne

Oct 28, 2011
Visit site
I'm sure this question has been asked before, but I'm completely new to the world of Android phones and systems and I'm really overwhelmed trying to read a lot of these threads.
Now, I did a stupid thing and bought a phone from craigslist and let the jerk that sold it to me leave before making sure the phone worked. It does--esn's clean and everything. But the screen doesn't work. It glows, and the intensity of the glow changes as if it's doing things, but all I can see is a black screen. It even makes noises occasionally.

I can't get a hold of the guy I bought it off (of course), so I'm trying really hard to figure out if I can make it work. So I could really use some dumbed-down advice. Is this what "bricked" means? Did he do something to make it like this, and is it fixable? Is there a "fixing your android for dummies"?

epidenimus

Racer of Elevators
Apr 13, 2011
Visit site
Hmm... I remember reading that sometimes a GB update could cause some issues with the screen. Try pulling the battery out for a minute, putting it back in and rebooting. If that doesn't fix it, can you boot into recovery or the bootloader?

Either way, it appears like the seller was aware of the issues. It doesn't necessarily mean that it is bricked, especially if you are getting sounds.

epidenimus

Racer of Elevators
Apr 13, 2011
Visit site
Try just putting the battery back in and booting normally first.

If that does not work, take the battery out for a minute and replace... then hold down the following buttons:
Power + Volume Down + Home

After a few seconds, you should get a text-based program appear on your screen with a few options. Again, if this does not work, there are still some things to try.

Last edited:

sfhub

Jan 15, 2011
Visit site
But the screen doesn't work. It glows, and the intensity of the glow changes as if it's doing things, but all I can see is a black screen. It even makes noises occasionally.