Any benefit to deleting factory installed apps/other tweaking for new user?

nealoc187

Dec 20, 2010
Visit site
OK, this is my first smartphone, so I'm a total noob to phones/apps/phone performance but not to computers. It seems to me that phones are becoming more and more like our PCs these days, so that has me wondering if I should delete some of the preinstalled crap that comes on this phone. Just like with a name brand PC that you buy at a store which comes with a ton of bloatware/crapware that I uninstall the second I get it up and running (or do a fresh OS install to overwrite and get rid of all the factory installed crap applications).

So, is there any point to doing that with my Optimus S that I just bought? I have not installed a single new app/widget/anything yet. I plan on doing so, and probably will root the phone in the next couple weeks so that I can install some other cool stuff and possibly overclock the phone, etc. I overclock my computers, modify my cars, etc, so I figure I'll get in to doing the same thing with my phone.

Any other tweaks I should perform to get the most performance out of my phone and ensure that it stays performing well as I start to install applications/widgets/etc. Should I be putting everything on the supplied 2GB SD card, or on the phone itself, or does it not matter?

Any other advice you guys can give me before I get started is appreciated.

SandersJC1964

Feb 22, 2010
Visit site