Total newbe on a smart phone and thinking of jumping in with the Moto G. Looking for some advise

We have ATT now with flip phones. Could I order a Moto G and use it with my ATT (Voice Only) Sim card? I don't want to add ATT smart phone pricing or contract.
    Things I hope to do with it and things I need to understand.
    > Keep using it as voice only for two numbers.
    > Use the phone for wi fi surfing
    > Use a google voice app for wifi calls? Have the phone manage the calls to go to wifi if available and cell if not.
    > Another question...if you have no cell service at all can a cell phone with wifi still work on wifi?
    > Can we us google voice and text on this phone?
    > If a phone has GPS does it use cell minutes?

I didn't find a Moto G thread...it's probably under my nose.

Thank you

Have to keep ATT or a reseller due to our location. We use google voice with local number and forward it to cell phone when not by computer.
    12-01-2013 05:01 PM
    Total newbe on a smart phone and thinking of jumping in with the Moto G. Looking for some advise

We have ATT now with flip phones. Could I order a Moto G and use it with my ATT (Voice Only) Sim card? I don't want to add ATT smart phone pricing or contract.
    > Use a google voice app for wifi calls? Have the phone manage the calls to go to wifi if available and cell if not.
    > Another question...if you have no cell service at all can a cell phone with wifi still work on wifi?

Thank you

Have to keep ATT or a reseller due to our location. We use google voice with local number and forward it to cell phone when not by computer.
    Are you on AT&T or one of their MVNOs (Like GoPhone or Aio)?
    12-01-2013 05:28 PM
    Thanks for asking.
    We are both OFF contract but still on ATT. We will be light user except web I think through wifi. No landline just cell with google voice. Medium use of technology. Frugal and older too.

I found the Moto G forum ...is there a way to move a post?