My UK Moto G has just updated to android version 4.4.2. So now what? :-D

Tara100

Dec 30, 2013
Visit site
Hi

I'm new to android phones, but have read a few excited posts about the 4.4.2 update.
Now it's actually happened, what should I expect to be new / different or better? :)

All help will be appreciated!

Regards
Tara

f2k8

Dec 28, 2013
Visit site
Anyone fancy posting our bedtime battery stats with KitKat? People claim it's better than what it is right now with the Moto G, but mine is already fantastic (right now), only goes down 3-4% and I have quite a few apps installed. I did have an issue with Media Server before but a factory reset seemed to have fixed that.

f2k8

Dec 28, 2013
Visit site
Strange...I'm in the UK and no update for me...KitKat hates me, lol.

What network are you on? A few Moto G updates will be handed out when the networks feel like it, I have a Tesco Moto G which has been unlocked to work with Ovivo (of Vodafone) and my update came straight away.

neu smurph

May 15, 2013
Visit site
My Tesco MotoG offered the update late last night.

What's new - really not that much - transparent status and nav bar and a new settings icon are the most obvious UI changes, new stock Email App along the lines of Gmail, new Dialer app, new Gallery app, ability to switch easily between stock and user installed launchers from Settings, printing from the device, some extra options in Developer Options including experimental ART runtime rather than Dalvik and 'Geeky stats about running processes' (great name for a settings entry). Repeatedly touch Build Number in About Phone to unhide Developer Options in Settings.

What's broken/annoying - user apps can't access app battery/cpu/wakelock stats without root anymore, doesn't seem to be native support for USB drives to be mounted via OTG - *sigh* - very bad to offer updates to drunk people on a Friday night!

Time will tell if performance & battery life is better/worse than the original 4.3.