New Moto G LTE phone giving problems?

noobuser707

Aug 24, 2014
Visit site
Hi,

I bought a MotoG LTE from the Motorola store (US) two days ago, it is my first smartphone and I am not tech savvy at all, so please help!

I am yet to buy a sim card for this phone but I started downloading free apps for android (the usual ones: FB; OneNote; OneDrive; Outlook.com; 3 different games out of which only one takes up a lot of space - GT Racing 2; Clean Master; Cover; Whatsapp; Songza; SondCloud; Timely). I did this installing of apps all in one day and towards the end of the day, I tried switching off the phone as there is no sim card yet.

When I took the phone out to add 1-2 more apps, the phone was not switched off, there was some message on the screen: a list of options were presented " start normally, recover, etc", I don't know what exactly I did but I think I pressed the Power button and/or Volume keys and it started normally. I installed 2 more small apps and switched it off before retiring for the day.

This morning I found the same thing and then I saw the "Android in distress" symbol. The battery had over 90% of charge when I thought I switched it off at night, but in the morning it was down at 26%. I did a small search on Google on how to reset the phone, and when I followed the instructions, it seemed to work normally.

My question is:
Should I be worried about this "Android in distress" warning? What am I doing wrong that could be harming my brand new phone? Sorry for the long message, but since I don't know the technical issues here, I don't know how to describe these things in a succinct manner. Please help.

Thanks!

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site