Insufficient Space

can3gxw

Trusted Member
Nov 1, 2010
Visit site
So my wife has a Moto G (3rd gen) running Marshmallow. I have a 32GB SD card installed in her phone, and formatted it as "internal storage". Why is she still getting "insufficient space" errors when apps try to update? I thought that the whole purpose of adoptable storage was to help out smaller phones (8GB) with their space issues?

Am I missing something? I'm running a Samsung GS5 and adoptable storage isn't possible on that so I have no experience in using it...

paininthenuts

Aug 22, 2016
Visit site
So my wife has a Moto G (3rd gen) running Marshmallow. I have a 32GB SD card installed in her phone, and formatted it as "internal storage". Why is she still getting "insufficient space" errors when apps try to update? I thought that the whole purpose of adoptable storage was to help out smaller phones (8GB) with their space issues?

Am I missing something? I'm running a Samsung GS5 and adoptable storage isn't possible on that so I have no experience in using it...

This may help give you some space. settings/storage/internal storage. Then tap on each app to see if it can be transferred to your sd card. Also, settings/storage/tap sd card, 3 dots right corner and migrate.

Last edited:

can3gxw

Trusted Member
Nov 1, 2010
Visit site
This may help give you some space. settings/storage/internal storage. Then tap on each app to see if it transferred to your sd card. Also, settings/storage/tap sd card, 3 dots right corner and migrate.

Thank you. I will try that when I can get my hands on her phone. :)

sparkybird

Aug 8, 2016
Visit site
Be aware that after an update some of your apps will move back to the phone, so you then need to move them back to the SD card. It's flipping annoying!
Also I'm pretty sure you can't move the whole app to the card, so it won't free up tons of space

paininthenuts

Aug 22, 2016
Visit site