Going from G1 to G3, hints and tips please?

sparkybird

Aug 8, 2016
Visit site
Hi everyone
Ok bear with me as I'm not very technical. The Moto G1 was first smartphone and I've just now bought a G3. Any hints as tips for making the move over?
I have an SD card in the G1 and I'm hoping to make better use of it as adaptable storage in the new phone which is 8 gb
Suggestions from more knowledgeable people much appreciated!
Thanks in advance

Last edited:

paininthenuts

Aug 22, 2016
Visit site
I have the G3 with 8gb storage, and dearly wish I paid the extra and got the 16gb version.Unfortunately the way Android 6 utilizes apps means the OS will use up loads of storage space. However, you are wear you are, so here are a few tips.

1) Ensure you use a high quality and fast SD card
2) Format the SD card to adoptable storage, Once this is done, go into settings/Storage/ SD card. Then click on the 3 buttons on top right of the screen & migrate data. This will free up some memory from your hard drive.
3) To free up more memory try this. Settings/storage/apps. Click on each app that isn't a system app and see if it gives you the option to put the app on your SD card.
4) From time to time click on settings/storage and clear the cache.

Once you have sorted the storage issue out, it is a very good phone. It is fast and a pleasure to use. I bought mine brand new and boxed on ebay for £82 ($125)

acejavelin

Jun 13, 2012
Visit site
@paininthenuts is offering good advice... My advice is if you currently have a 2-3 year old SD card (assuming, since you have a G1) and plan on using it for internal, adopted storage buy a new card of high quality and a minimum of UHS1 rating. Currently the Samsung EVO+ series seems the best quality/speed/value card out there for internal storage.

sparkybird

Aug 8, 2016
Visit site
Hello both
Thanks for the quick and helpful replies.