I'm new to Android coming from using Blackberry back in the day and iPhones more recently. I feel like I constantly find new features this phone has that are relatively "hidden". Mine today was the lockscreen. I have pattern lock set up, and didn't realize (swiping from the very edge of the screen) you can swipe to get quick access to the camera, and other custom screens if you swipe right versus left, without having to put your password in each time. Pretty awesome. The gesture is the same as the one used to switch open windows in Chrome.
    Jack Coward likes this.
    10-08-2013 01:59 PM
    I'm new to Android coming from using Blackberry back in the day and iPhones more recently. I feel like I constantly find new features this phone has that are relatively "hidden". Mine today was the lockscreen. I have pattern lock set up, and didn't realize (swiping from the very edge of the screen) you can swipe to get quick access to the camera, and other custom screens if you swipe right versus left, without having to put your password in each time. Pretty awesome. The gesture is the same as the one used to switch open windows in Chrome.
    LOL, those aren't hidden features. Those are called lock screen widgets and was incorporated in 4.2 when it was released by google awhile ago. The quick swipe to camera is a feature of the Moto X. You also can (at anytime while screen is on or phone is locked) twist your wrist quickly twice and that will open your camera as well.

Wecome to Android!
    10-08-2013 02:36 PM
    Yeah I knew the quick camera gesture but never knew there were more screens there! Ha.

Posted via Android Central App
    10-08-2013 03:50 PM
    Well yes they were added in 4.2, their not that emphansized on, you don't know about them unless someone shows you, which makes them somewhat hidden. I just find them more annoying than anything else. Maybe dash clock on the main screen. But thats as far as I'll go.
    10-08-2013 03:53 PM