Hi everyone,

I am new to android phone and am so overwhelmed by it all lol.
    My daughter and I got the same phone on the same day and we are both having issues sending pictures and the phone seems to wants to convert all text messages to mms regardless if it is to one person on more. We are both using wifi but I have noticed that both wifi and 4G are running at all times. Is that normal?
    I did go into the settings and turn off the group messaging and since then the whole text issues are off and on. Some texts (those that are more than two lines long) are switched to mms and shorter ones seem to go out normally. Shouldn't this phone just know what to do on it's own without messing around with turning on and off wifi as I saw on another post?

Thank you
    10-24-2013 09:58 PM
    The Moto X shows the 4G icon even when WiFi is on, however it's typically grayed out. It will use your mobile data to send MMS messages, but almost every other task should default to WiFi if that is available. For your texting question, that's a new one to me. Will defer to experts on that one.
    10-24-2013 10:02 PM
    Thanks for responding NothingIsTrue. We are still having problems sending pics out or larger text messages out but it seems to be off and on.
    10-29-2013 12:58 PM
    SMS101 :-)

The SMS protocol specifies a maximum length of 160 text characters. That's ALL that can be sent in one SMS.