Hello Moto X, goodbye iPhone

gadgetman#CB

Jul 21, 2010
Visit site
Hi guys, just wanted to introduce myself and join the conversation here, got my custom (olive back, black front, silver handware, 32GB) Moto X Monday after ordering it Friday afternoon.

My brief story, I have had iPhones since the 3G (3G, 4, 4S, 5); I love the platform and use Macs and iPads, but I was frustrated with the bugginess of iOS 7, and bored with the hardware and OS design. I am a registered iOS developer and former Apple employee, and I do have a lot of time and money invested in the iOS ecosystem. While I've worn the Apple fanboy hat proudly in the past, I'm really all about finding the best tools for the job.

So far I am really liking this phone, I have tried Android phones before, all Samsung (OG Galaxy, S3, Note 2), and always returned them quickly. They were all too big and the OS lacked the polish of iOS. The active notifications and screen size/quality are the first tings that impress me.

I'm sure I'm going to have a bunch of questions, this always seems like a very helpful forum so thanks in advance!

First quesion; Twitter clients. I love Tweetbot on iOS, those of you that have used it know what I'm talking about. Is there anything close on Android?

I do use Tweebot on my iPad so Tweet Marker support is a priority for me, but I'm willing to bend on that for a better-looking, better-featured app.

I tried the official Twitter app, not many features that I want. TweetCaster has the features but the UI looks like crap (the 3d buttons, yikes).

I want easy access to favorites, custom retweets, inline pictures, picture only view, etc, like Tweetbot. The Tweetbot dev refuses to develop for Android.

Plume seems to meet my needs, but it keeps showing up as a separate icon when I try and share a photo instead of being in the share sheet. Maybe there is a way to stop Plume from doing this?

Any other good ones I'm missing? There seems to be dozens of Twitter apps.