$200 off-contract amazon glitch

XDCX

May 14, 2011
Visit site
Based on the comments I read at DroidLife it appears Amazon has the ability to recall a shipment while it is enroute.

Amazon has apparently told people that even though their order has shipped it's going to be rerouted back to Amazon's warehouse.

Posted via Android Central App

bd1212

Oct 14, 2010
Visit site
I didn't snag a Moto X, but I was able to get a Verizon Note 3 for $299. It shipped earlier today. Also, XDCX, Amazon has had screwups like this in the past and not once have they rerouted deliveries to go back to their warehouses. I'm no lawyer, but wouldn't that be illegal? Once you've paid for it and you've been sent a tracking number, the product is essentially yours. They can't just take it back... or can they? To me that just screams illegal. Anyone wanna chime in to verify these claims?Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 5.06.16 PM.png

Ry

Moderator Captain
Trusted Member
Nov 16, 2010
Visit site
I didn't snag a Moto X, but I was able to get a Verizon Note 3 for $299. It shipped earlier today. Also, XDCX, Amazon has had screwups like this in the past and not once have they rerouted deliveries to go back to their warehouses. I'm no lawyer, but wouldn't that be illegal? Once you've paid for it and you've been sent a tracking number, the product is essentially yours. They can't just take it back... or can they? To me that just screams illegal. Anyone wanna chime in to verify these claims?View attachment 90672

I'm pretty sure they're within their rights to re-route or cancel orders if there was an error on their side. The customer would be refunded.

Now if the item was shipped and the customer took delivery of it, I'm not sure if Amazon could do anything in that case.

XDCX

May 14, 2011
Visit site
I get the impression that the magnitude of this screw-up was pretty big.