Just got new Moto X - Should I wait for 4.4 to settle out to activate?

FrankA1

Oct 2, 2011
Visit site
Fantastic that KitKat rolled out so fast, (especially for Verizon), here's my question to you knowledgeable ones:

I ordered 2 new Moto X's and Fed-X just delivered the phones, not activated yet.

I've seen the 4.4 posts re: some having features knocked out etc (some of which have good explanations) but others were needing factory re-sets; should I wait a few days for Verizon's 4.4 OTA to bug-fix a bit?

Any advice on new activation and hitting the 4.4 update would be appreciated, thanks in advance!

Vaas

Nov 13, 2012
Visit site
I am somewhat new to Android. With that said, I have read a lot and I am going to be waiting a week or so after everyone gets the update before I update. I am in no rush, the phone is awesome :)

tonymhoffman

Nov 4, 2012
Visit site
Fantastic that KitKat rolled out so fast, (especially for Verizon), here's my question to you knowledgeable ones:

I ordered 2 new Moto X's and Fed-X just delivered the phones, not activated yet.

I've seen the 4.4 posts re: some having features knocked out etc (some of which have good explanations) but others were needing factory re-sets; should I wait a few days for Verizon's 4.4 OTA to bug-fix a bit?

Any advice on new activation and hitting the 4.4 update would be appreciated, thanks in advance!

Just update. Then do factory reset cache wipe. Most the people doing that aren't having problems

Posted via Android Central App

anon(847090)

Jul 8, 2012
Visit site

here is the main reason why some people have issues... they have been using the X for few months and it create some data on ur phone.
now when u update, the new software might have problems with the old data causing some minor issue.
This is why a factory reset always solve most problem since u r wiping all the old data.