Moto X: The camera on this phone is an absolute joke

mtndewgood

Sep 20, 2011
Visit site
I can take five different pictures of the same thing indoors from the same angle and the light or grain in all of them will look different. It's very inconsistent. I'm no expert but my feeling is this is partly due to the camera always trying to focus when on, instead of focusing when you take the picture like most of my camera phones in the past have.

Cozume

Banned
Jan 25, 2014
Visit site
I know my view of this may seem misguided but I don't understand why, in 2013, Googorola thought it a good idea to release the Moto X with a camera that did not meet or exceed the competition given an environment when it was well known that camera quality is clearly important to most phone-buying consumers.
First, the Moto X is meant to reverse the trend of the spec wars - and it is not a high end hardware phone. It is a mid-range hardware phone. Second, Motorola has never had good cameras. No one buys a Motorola phone for its camera; you buy it for its radio and you accept that if you want a phone with a better camera, it will come at the price of a worse radio because Motorola's radios are the best.

Then, after the world noted the camera's issues they remain largely uncorrected even now. That's the kind of design mistake that will get your company up for sale.

Oh wait....
what is clear to everyone is that it was Google's plan all along to sell Motorola quickly. They wanted the patents, Motorola would not sell the patents without the businesses and so Google had to buy Motorola. But the plan then was to use the patents and Motorola as leverage against Samsung to get a cross licensing agreement and some concessions from Samsung regarding how they clutter up android with their crap software. The minute the ink was dry on that agreement, Google offered up Motorola to Lenovo for sale.

The sale of Motorola by Google had nothing to do with the Moto X's camera or the Moto X for that mater.