On the Moto X 2014, which is better the Moto Launcher vs. Google Now Launcher?

Dominic Brant

Aug 2, 2013
Visit site
Moto X 2014 - Moto Launcher vs. Google Now Launcher

Hello AC Forums!
This is my first time posting on the forums, so I apologize in advance if I make any mistakes I'm not currently aware of.

Anyway, I just got a black 16 GB Moto X (2014) on Verizon today. First impressions: I love it! However, I do have one question that I know the fine folks here in the forums are willing to help me out on. Should I use the default, almost-stock Motorola launcher, or should I download the Google Now Launcher?
Now for the record, my main concern with the Google Now Launcher in comparison to the Moto launcher is battery life. Before I had a Galaxy S3, and once I tried the Google Now Launcher out a couple months ago, I noticed a decline in my battery life. NOTE: this could've been from the Google Search app always running, the fact that I had always listening for "OK Google" turned on, or just the fact that the phone was over 2 years old.
So my question for any of you who use the Moto X (this year's or last year's) or any Motorola phone for that matter is, does the Google Now Launcher harm battery life? And, do you guys have a preference? I know the difference between the two is minimal, but I thought I'd get some input from you all. Any and all answers appropriate to the question are greatly appreciated!

AZbear

Nov 3, 2009
Visit site
Re: Moto X 2014 - Moto Launcher vs. Google Now Launcher

Glad your happy with your new phone. By default the 2014 X uses the Google Now launcher. This different than the 2013 X

anon(7894520)

Aug 4, 2013
Visit site

you are already using the google now launcher.

it is the default in the moto x.

my preference?

Nova. Accept no substitutions.

Stang68

Mar 15, 2010
Visit site

you are already using the google now launcher.

it is the default in the moto x.

my preference?

Nova. Accept no substitutions.