I was pretty set on purchasing a Moto X Play... until I started hearing about lag/stuttering issues. I was drawn to the Moto X Play mostly because of stock android in the hope that it would provide a fast and slick interface. I'm not interested in much gaming on my phone, more so just listening to podcasts, browsing the web and social media, checking emails etc. - light stuff. Would a user like me have much issue with the X Play's stuttering?

If so, would I be better off just getting this year's Moto G? I am a poor student so I'm limited to buying a phone on contract and nowhere in the UK seems to offer the 16GB G with the 2GB of RAM, so I am also fearful of seeing stuttering on the 1GB version. It would also be sad to give up the 1080p screen and beast of battery that comes with the Moto X Play.

Any advice?
    09-07-2015 11:49 AM
    I think the model with 2gb of RAM is being sold only through Motorola site so it's going to be difficult finding it on a contract. That extra gb will make a big difference with multitasking.

I've been using the X Play for a few days and didn't notice any lag and just a couple of animation stutters, but barely noticeable. The phone is fast and multitasking is a breeze keeping a long list of apps in the memory. I think some reviews about this phone are a bit unfair. It's a mid-range phone great value for money.
    09-07-2015 12:11 PM
    If Motorola can fix the stuttering on the play then you would be better going for it in my opinion over the G. However that assumes moto fix it. If they don't then for a lag free experience you might be better off with the G.

Some people say the play is fine so they are either oblivious to lag or some models are OK and its a lottery as to what u get. I don't game on my phone and I thought stock android would be fine on the spec of the play but in its current form it isn't and the longer I have it the more buyers remorse increases a little. Although ultimately I am still happy I got it.